top of page

History of the Mohawk Historical Society

Museum History

In early May of 1993 local history buffs, Kenneth Ankney and Kim Mohr, decided to form a historical society. The initiative caught hold quickly and membership soared to nearly fifty before their first meeting on June 17. The name “Mohawk Historical Society” was adopted. The physical boundaries were that of the Mohawk School system. This area includes the towns, villages and hamlets of Sycamore, McCutchenville,

Melmore, Smithville, Berwick, Mexico, Deunquat, Benton, Tymochtee, Belle Vernon, and Plankton.


Mohawk Historical Society Museum


Town Hall History

Melmore Town Hall

bottom of page